What The Face can teach us about selling ourselves and our USPs?

Image

I’m not a huge fan of reality TV but my ears pricked up when I heard the most interesting dialogue from the most unlikely source. Honestly, I never thought I’d be hanging on every word and agreeing with what Naomi Campbell had to say.  For those of you who have not seen the programme, the makers and experienced models are looking for somebody to represent and be the face of a leading cosmetics company: potentially a life-changing opportunity for the fortunate winner.  So what was it I found so interesting? It was the similarity between us all, every day in front of clients, at meetings and presentations, with co-workers and in social settings and those beautiful girls on a runway wearing the most expensive and elegant designer clothing.  I was surprised to hear Miss Campbell talk about being a top model. Apparently, it is all about the attention to detail and knowledge – how to pose, engage the audience, sell the product, have confidence, be creative, be able to take direction and get into the right mind set to get a winning picture. Models must adopt and cultivate a winning spirit and have the drive and determination to succeed. Sound familiar?

By this time I was completely gripped. I have a bubbly and outgoing personality, which is a huge blessing but over the years I’ve learnt it is not about me, it is about the product or service and how those can solve a problem for the buyer.

I never thought I’d agree with Naomi Campbell, but she is right – hence 27 years at the top of her game. Sometimes, the best messages come from the most unusual sources.

